thesis thesis thesis

January 23, 2007 at 4:38 pm (Anglo-Saxon, beowulf, reading notes, thesis)

So I’m tightening up Chapter One and I think I need more about food and drink as media of symbolic exchange in Beowulf.  I *know* the chapter needs more pages lol….

Dear internet gods,

I’ve got Irving on ealuscerwen, De Roo on fatal feast metaphors, Rosier on hands and feasts.  Who/what am I missing here for secondary stuff?

(Don’t laugh.  I once posted that I wished I had a laptop.  Someone with a laptop he no longer used mailed me his laptop – for free. I make my offerings to the internet gods [actually, that might more properly be St. Expedite, I’ll have to give it some thought.])

3 Comments

  1. Eileen Joy said,

    You probably already know this book, but very apropos to your comments above would be Hugh Magennis’s “Images of Community in Old English Poetry” [Cambridge, 1996].

  2. Eileen Joy said,

    And now I see that Magennis has an even more recent book, titled “Anglo-Saxon Appetites: Food and Drink and Their Consumption in Old English and Related Literature,” so that might be helpful, too.

  3. kdegruy said,

    Oh, the latter I hadn’t happened on. Delightful! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

