Thesis, Doctoral Programs, Queer Appetites, and Sir Marrok

March 14, 2007 at 3:36 pm (Uncategorized)

This post will not live up to its title.

The thesis is in to the committee and I defend on the 20th.  I am very unhappy with my conclusion, in which I manage to mostly parrot Jeffrey Jerome Cohen and intersperse some severely unfocused rambling on Beowulf with some vaguely contextualized quotes from Baudrillard and an Anglo-Saxon riddle.  It makes me cringe.  I keep telling myself it doesn’t have to be good — it just has to be done.

In other news, after receiving some pleasant acceptances from a number of desirable PhD programs and a couple of flattering funding packages, I have made up my mind where I’m going this fall.  It feels good to have done that.  I have chosen the place with probably the least illustrious Medieval Studies program out of the batch, but probably the most collegial group of people I have ever met, and a funded teaching-free dissertation year.  There are also some stellar folks there working in queer theory in other periods.  My plans include getting some funding to go to Iceland some summer, ’cause I want to, and ’cause I bet I can get it.  Queer draugar desires, here I come… one day.

There may perhaps be more actual content here soon, as I take some reading notes on my way to tracking down Malory’s Sir Marrok the Werewolf and imagining a lost manuscript featuring said werewolf.  To quote my email pal Jeff Massey, who will doubtless be horrified to turn up in this blog, it’ll be ‘sacralicious.’

2 Comments

  1. Marie said,

    I’m sorry, I came across this website in my desperate search for more information on Sir Marrok, the werewolf knight fleetingly mentioned in Le Morte D’Arthur.
    Have you found any more information regarding this knight? Also may I ask why you are interested in Sir Marrok?

  2. kdegruy said,

    I’ll post my draft and bib.

Leave a Reply

