September 18, 2007 at 6:57 pm (grad school)

Silly me, I thought the job as the Med Studies program assistant person thing would involve collecting information to give to some tech savvy person who could update the website.  Looks like they want me to update the website.  I don’t think the IT guy I met with today quite took me seriously when I said I know nothing about websites.  However, it appears I will learn the mysteries of something called DreamWeaver.  When, I don’t know.

Post “job talk” lunch today with potential faculty member.  I am noticing that I am the only person at anything like this that ever gets asked, “[field of interest], huh?  And why do you want to do that?”  I mean, my mother asks me that all the time, but nobody in the department asks the Victorian Lit folks, “So why Victorian Lit?”  But at least once a week (twice, today, in fact) I’ve had to answer the question, “So why do you want to be a medievalist?”  Nobody laughed when I said, “’cause that’s where the money is!” so I guess I’m going to have to work on a better answer.

Leave a Reply

