wordpress stat funnies, meta, werewolves

August 24, 2008 at 3:58 am (malory)

I posted an entry in 2007, sharing my imaginary Tale of Sir Marrok, this poor guy who gets one line of airtime in Malory, in which we are told that his wife betrayed him and turned him into a werewolf.  Unfortunately, there is no Tale of Sir Marrok, and I made up every word that I wrote (cribbing heavily from Marie de France with the differences outlined in the fake editorial intro). The only problem is that, if you stumble upon this via Google, you could spend an awful lot of time reading this garbage that was written as a graduate student’s smart-ass response to a writing prompt.  What’s even worse is that you might think it’s got any scholarly value whatsoever.  I can just hope that people use the bibliography (and realize way before I did that undergraduates can use Interlibrary Loan.  I never even tried, I don’t think, until my first semester in grad school; I just let what was available locally shape my research prior to that.  That’s very sad.).

The Sir Marrok bit gets hits several times a week. I check my wordpress stats every once in a while for shits and giggles, and this Marrok interest is continuous.  It worries me a bit, but it keeps on surprising me.  I think the world is hungry for more info on medieval werewolves.* I wish everybody who was assigned Malory and gets interested in Marrok and werewolves would go read Marie de France’s “Bisclavret.”  And then go on to read Egils saga.  Because everybody should read Egils saga.  It has werewolves.  Really. Go ahead.

But my main reason for looking at wordpress stats is because I always get a kick out of the search terms that bring people to this little corner of the internet; I like to imagine what they were looking for and, in some cases, how disgusted they may have been with what they actually found.  Amusing search terms in the past have included “Brad Pitt” and “container housing.” How many pages of hits on container housing must you plow through to end up *here*?  The mind, it boggles.

Recent searches that have landed people at Slouching Towards Extimacy:

marrok

sir marrok

dr.gaál györgy

fandom “william gibson”

extimate lacan

personification in Beowulf

werewolf knight arthur

donestre manuscript

husband into a wolf

spancel

weland

old english scriptures

That’s the sort of list that makes me feel like I’m falling down on the blog job.  Nevermind that I don’t really know what that job is; I have never had any central mission or even theme with this blog.  I mostly just started it as a place to stow thoughts and notes as I wrote my thesis, and then as a place to whinge about grad school, and then as a place to store links for my study of Old English.  There’s still a good bit of whinging, though.  But people keep coming here for werewolf tales, and I never did do anything else with werewolf tales.

But now I have to go figure out who or what a  “dr.gaál györgy” is.

* My daughter likes to watch the same episodes of television shows over and over and over again.  Today, she busted out an old Buffy the Vampire Slayer DVD and watched the episode where the werewolf boyfriend of one of the main (non-werewolf) characters meets a werewolf girl and has to have some emotionally fraught Thing with both of them, involving reflections on the nature of monstrousness — in this particular case, the matter of a rational human being reflecting on what it means to regularly turn into an animal.  My daughter cheered when werewolf-boy used the final moments of his transformation, his occupation of that liminal space/time/skin in between human and animal, to deploy both reason and emotion (and presumably ethics) in choosing the human girl over the werewolf girl (who was incidentally trying to kill the human girl and convince the werewolf boy that he should learn to enjoy the slaughter and stop with the self-restraint).  Of course, werewolf boy had to be shot in the ass with a tranquilizer gun right after that, as his transformation was complete and he started going after the human girl, who’d suddenly become nothing more than food to his wolf-self, and my daughter didn’t know quite what to do with that, other than to be reassured that Buffy always knows what weapon to use.  She didnt’ fast forward through the part where werewolf-boy kills werewolf-girl, but she did fast forward through the part where people in human skin were kissing.  She’s at that age where “tearing out of throats” bothers her less than “that gross kissy stuff grownups do.”  My daughter couldn’t care less about medieval werewolves as such, but she’s awfully interested in the idea that a werewolf could act like a human even while in werewolf form.  Joss Whedon didn’t give us much on that, but Malory sure did.

1 Comment

  1. Douglas said,

    Some of the stats are indeed interesting. A lot of people browse the Internet in some pretty bizarre ways! Thanks for using WordPress.com!

    Douglas
    WordPress.com Support

Leave a Reply

