Whatcha whatcha whatcha want

February 19, 2009 at 3:48 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )

I got up at 4 a.m. to study for a Latin test, finish reading Troilus and Criseyde, draft a “philosophy of teaching comp” thing,  finish up a little Malory, and start a little Tennyson before the sun came up today, and now I’m so exhausted I can’t sleep.  Funny that.

Since I can’t sleep but my brain is so fried I can’t possibly say anything intelligent, I thought I’d take a long overdue peek at what brings people to this blog, and see if I can’t help them find what they’re looking for since I know they didn’t find it when they got here.

As usual, one of the top search terms is “Sir Marrok.”  Poor Sir Marrok.  As usual, I have to say that 1) I don’t know why this blog turns up among the first five hits when you Google Sir Marrok, and 2) Malory did not write a Tale of Sir Marrok if Google is bringing you here.  I should put up a Sir Marrok bibliography in case any of these hits come from students slouching towards research topics.  Jeff Massey should help me; I hear he knows a thing or two about medieval werewolves.

“bibliography beowulf seamus norton”

I’m not sure what you’re looking for.

“importance of loyalty in lay of the were”

I am just going to assume that wordpress is truncating the search term, and this was actually “Lay of the Werewolf,” aka Bisclavret.  I’ve got nothing on this that I haven’t already posted, and most of that in a strange mixture of jest and haste.  If you’re looking for an online text of the lai, you could do worse than Judith Shoaf’s translation here.  If you’re looking for a web page discussing ideals and complications of loyalty in Marie de France’s lai, and you’re fortunate enough to be enrolled in a college course in which you have a professor available to you for consultation, then I strongly recommend you ask your professor for recommendations on resources, because Google is going to get you nothing more than a bunch of role playing game hits (and, apparently, my blog, and frankly, I’ve seen role playing games that were better researched than my blog).

“marrok”

I have *got* to come up with some new material.

“a summary for the second shepherd’s’ ”

What I like best here is the way the searcher covered all the bases with punctuation.  It’s a pesky play to punctuate, and this person was taking no chances.  Hint: if you search with no punctuation, you’ll still get decent hits; amusingly, Google will ask you if you’re sure you don’t mean “second shepherd’s play.”  Dear readers coming here via Google: you *don’t* mean “second shepherd’s play.”

Here’s an edition of the text.  If you want a summary, here’s one that’s short and sweet (but that is probably not the shortcut you wanted).  If you’re looking for a modern English “translation,” you could do worse than this one.

“latin word obsess history”

Cool!  See, these “radical homosexual agenda” people have it all wrong.  The most dangerous people I know are the radical philologists – we’re lying in wait, poised to corrupt your freshmen with OED homework assignments, your elderly Christian aunts with copies of Louise M. Burkhart’s Holy Wednesday, and your neighborhood film-goers with Angelina Jolie doing philology naked.

In my mind, that was all going to have a rousing and funny punchline involving The Naked Philologist.  Somewhere between brain, fingers, and screen, it didn’t quite work out. Must mean the sleep dep is catching up with me.

Leave a Reply

