Anglo-Saxon runic keyboard layout

February 2, 2011 at 7:41 am (Uncategorized)

ETA2: Junicode has regular and mirrored runes; I thought I’d post the link since this blog post still gets quite a few hits from people looking for means to type runes.  (And I suspect some of the people who’ve complained my keyboard didn’t work maybe didn’t notice that it depended on having Junicode installed as a font first, which I didn’t spell out at any length.)  You can download the latest version of Junicode here. From there you can assign your own hotkeys, which is probably simpler than my figuring out how to host a keyboard that only about five people on the planet will see any need for anyway.  If you want an Old English or Old Norse keyboard, you can get them here.

ETA: I took my keyboard down due to dropbox limits and other concerns, but if you want it I can send it to you if you give me your email address.

I got tired of looking for a keyboard installation for typing Anglo-Saxon runes in Junicode, so I made one. Because I didn’t really have time to dive into the literature on Englisc runes beyond the level of a lazy, dorm-bound undergrad with a hangover, my key assignations are fairly idiosyncratic and may defy logic, phonetics, or common sense.  When you install the keyboard and turn it on, it defaults to Junicode with a standard keyboard map; there are A-S character options available via hotkeys and A-S runes available via the Ctrl key. Keyboard maps and credits forthcoming. Feedback welcome.

1 Comment

  1. etm5 said,

    Do you still have your runic keyboard? I would love to hav it.

Leave a Reply

